Import custom directories/files to package path on nix-store

Hello!

I’m very new to NixOS and trying to get some packages working is proving quite difficult, so I want to ask for help with answers that point me to the solution (or the solution itself, of course!)

Summary:

How can I add custom directories and files to specific package paths in the nix-store, preventing that directory or file name prepending its hash? (For example, adding the ranger/ directory (with its respective files like rc.conf, rifle.conf…) to the /etc/ path of the package /nix/store/xxxxxxxxxx-ranger/ and thus the file /nix/ store/xxxxxxxx-ranger/etc/ranger/rc.conf exists, and said ranger/ directory has been imported from the one in my /home/user/.config/ranger so that the configuration will be applied to ranger even if I access as root.

Long history (multiple cases):

1. I use a program called xournalpp, which allows you to create custom plugins to execute certain actions. Those plugins need to be in a very specific location: /usr/share/xournalpp/plugins/. I tried various ways to get my files to that location such as:
  • Make a wrapper for the package that will copy the files from my local repository (“/home/…/Nix/…”) to the target path. This didn’t work as the path didn’t belong to the nix-store, so the wrapper couldn’t find any files to copy.

• Applying antiquotating to escape the nix-store path worked fine because I was already able to access my “/home/…”, however when copying the plugins directory to the destination path, the directory was hashed ( and of course xournalpp doesn’t look for the plugins in xxxxxxxxxxx-plugins).
    Wrapper used on mi home-manager packages list to make this try:

(runCommand “xournalpp” {
buildInputs = [ pkgs.makeWrapper ];
} ‘’
mkdir $out
ln -s ${pkgs.xournalpp}/* $out
cp -r /home/user/Nix/home-manager/Unused/xournalpp/ $out/usr/share/xournalpp/