Improving a flake.nix config that configures home-manager

Hi everyone,

Nix language newbie here. After some struggle and looking at a lot of places, I was able to create an initial, single flake.nix file with a basic home-manager configuration for myself, that downloads and install a simple flake from github:

{
  description = "Home Manager config";

inputs = {
    nixpkgs.url = "github:nixos/nixpkgs/nixos-unstable";
    home-manager = {
      url = "github:nix-community/home-manager";
      inputs.nixpkgs.follows = "nixpkgs";
    };
    execpermfix.url = "github:lpenz/execpermfix";
  };

outputs = { nixpkgs, home-manager, execpermfix, ... }:
    let
      system = "x86_64-linux";
      home = { config, pkgs, system, execpermfix, ... }:
        {
          home.username = "myuser";
          home.homeDirectory = "/home/myuser";
          home.stateVersion = "22.11";
          programs.home-manager.enable = true;
          home.packages = [
            execpermfix.packages.${system}.default
          ];
        };
    in {
      homeConfigurations.myuser = home-manager.lib.homeManagerConfiguration {
        pkgs = nixpkgs.legacyPackages.${system};
        extraSpecialArgs = { inherit nixpkgs execpermfix system; };
        modules = [ home ];
      };
    };
}

It’s apparently working, but I have some questions, mostly related to the language:

• Is there a way to avoid repeating the execpermfix reference? I put it in the inputs, but then I have to bring it over in 3 places.
  • Is there a way to make this system-agnostic? I wonder if I could just put the same file in a raspberry pi and get the same environment.
  • Is there a way to explicitly define home inside modules instead of creating a variable and referencing it? I think in most places that sequence has been kept in a separate file and imported - I’m wondering if we could do the exact opposite.