Including local packages in home manager configuration

Hi,
I’m quite new to Nix. I’m now using NixPkgs via home manager on my Ubuntu systems for 6 months or so. I’ve recently learned about the possibility of including local packages that are not yet available in the nix store. So I made a start of defining my local package (bsync) in my case. Which I can build and run from the resulr/bin/ but I just can’t figure out what is missing in my config so that it will be made available via my home manager flake.

I’ve created a minimal example repository with configs based on the nice GitHub - Misterio77/nix-starter-configs: Simple and documented config templates to help you get started with NixOS + home-manager + flakes. All the boilerplate you need! which you can find here:

I must be missing something very obvious that causes home-manager switch to fail with the error message at the end. Maybe people with more experience can point out where I went wrong?

error:
       … while calling the 'derivationStrict' builtin

at /builtin/derivation.nix:9:12: (source not available)

… while evaluating derivation 'home-manager-generation'
         whose name attribute is located at /nix/store/b0l3v8509hrl3qbv6fj2zl0mjb2rwhdy-source/pkgs/stdenv/generic/make-derivation.nix:351:7

… while evaluating attribute 'buildCommand' of derivation 'home-manager-generation'

at /nix/store/b0l3v8509hrl3qbv6fj2zl0mjb2rwhdy-source/pkgs/build-support/trivial-builders/default.nix:98:16:

97|         enableParallelBuilding = true;
           98|         inherit buildCommand name;
             |                ^
           99|         passAsFile = [ "buildCommand" ]

(stack trace truncated; use '--show-trace' to show the full trace)

error: getting status of '/nix/store/1z500r8mam81nlbyz5v5xp5wr639j1pv-source/default.nix': No such file or directory

Rather than trying to get your flake via import-ing the current directory, you should be getting it through the self flake input.