Installing LunarVim

I’m fairly new to Nix (currently only using nix-env). I was trying to create a Nix script to install all the programs I usually use in case I need to start using a new computer (e.g. at work), but I’m not entirely sure how to install things like lunarvim that just use a install.sh script and that’s it.

Their documentation says:

bash <(curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/lunarvim/lunarvim/master/utils/installer/install.sh)

So, essentially fetch an url then use bash. Is there a way to do this in Nix? I know of fetchurl and runCommand… yet somehow I don’t understand how to use them! I get a derivation… then what? I feel like nix-pills go straight to compiling c packages and don’t help me much with my use case.

Sorry for this stupid question but I’m at a loss right now.

1 Like

Hey, always great to see people getting started with writing nix stuff :slightly_smiling_face:

Installing applications with a curl-bash-combo like that is viewed critically by a lot of people, (imo) mostly because it’s pretty much impossible to contain the effects. The script could install stuff anywhere or do other complex setup, which is sometimes useful but doesn’t really fit with nix.

I suggest that you download the script and have a look inside. Most of the time, they aren’t doing anything fancy. It’s probably downloading an archive, extracting it and then copying some files.

You can use that information in a derivation. Specifying src will download and extract, and you can override buildPhase, installPhase, … to do the necessary stuff.

I hope that gave you a bit of a direction, let us know how it works out :alien:

1 Like

Hi !

I mostly have the same question and arrived to the same conclusion (I have to write the derivation myself).

However, I have something that I don’t understand very well.