Is a Nix-based FHS-compliant distribution possible?

Note: I am new to GNU/Linux and Nix, and know nothing about their implementation details. Feel free to pick out my faults.

Nixpkgs can already build FHS environments and drop the user into them. While limited in configurability, this has allowed some stubborn packages (such as vscode-fhs that manages extensions itself) to be built with Nix. Now can this be augmented to the whole OS? I mean, instead of creating tons of symbolic links (especially for Home Manager) and wrappers, copy all necessary files into a FHS compliant sandbox, and let the user log in from it. This may

• increase the compatibility with pre-built binaries;

• make temporary mutations, such as modifying Nix-controlled files, that were rollbacked automatically after reboot, at least easier;

• make a smoother learning curve possible: with a delicate front-end for system configuration, the user could do things just as in “normal” distributions, yet enjoy all the advantages of declarative configuration if they want;

• strengthen security? I know little about the containerization technologies of Linux; just guess that if /nix is invisible to the user and their programs, and files are copied rather than linked, the core components of the OS would be more secure?

• and hide the details. This is a personal preference. Each time la get invoked, the symlink target paths with a 32-char hash appears just annoying to me. They’re like saying “No, this file is legally governed by Nix only. Ask for permission from it or you’ll have to destroy the precious declarative immutable system.” If where the declarations get realized by Nix differs from where they work, then the problem would be solved.

Copying a whole OS may take numerous disk spaces, but /nix/store already takes so much, so I guess this would not be a big problem…