Is my understanding about nixos modules correct?

Hi everyone, I’m new to nix ecosystem. I’m trying to understand more about module system.
After some reading, guessing and testing, I get some some conclusions which I’m not sure if they are true.
Please let me know if they are wrong.

hostname = nixpkgs.lib.nixosSystem {
  system = "x86-64_linux";
  modules = [
    # ...
  ];
};
  1. lib.nixosSystem collects all modules recursively, including module-list.nix
  2. If a module is function, a attribute set will be passed to it. All module functions will get the same attribute set.
  3. Modules are declared but not totally evaluted, a module’s attributes are not evaluted.
  4. All modules are merged togather, become one module. So Environment.systemPackages may looks like <chunk1> ++ <chunk2>
  5. Every attribute in this module is evaluted recursively, a lot of low-level options defined in it and I get my system configuration.
  6. The order of modules doesn’t matter, moduleA imports moduleB works the same a moduleB imports moduleA.

I’m not a English speaker, sorry if I did not express myself well.
Happy Chinese New Year!

Pretty sure you have it right. Some small points:

I’m not entirely sure what you mean here. If a module is to be turned into something meaningful it has to be “evaluated”, which means parsing all its attributes and computing their values. Are you trying to describe nix’ laziness?

Yes, but note that different data types have different rules for “merging”. If you define a list option - like environment.systemPackages - twice, the two lists will be concatenated.

Two number options on the other hand will result in a collision error instead, because there is no natural way to “merge” them.

In either case, you can force a priority for definitions with the library functions lib.mkDefault, lib.mkForce or lib.mkOverride.

This also allows forcing lists not to merge, which is sometimes useful (though probably not for environment.systemPackages).