Is there a way to get the description of a *package*, rather than the software it contains?

The motivating example for this issue is Git.

I’m trying out NixOS in a VM, saw that Git isn’t installed by default, and went straight to the package search. Sure enough, there are four different packages which provide git… but they all have the same description:

Distributed version control system

Git, a popular distributed version control system designed to handle very large projects with speed and efficiency.

The package names provide some basic information (“gitMinimal” → “git” → “gitFull” is pretty clear), but don’t really provide any detail about the differences between them. I could read the Nix source for the packages to get the details with enough effort, but that sounds like an exhausting amount of research to do for more than a handful of packages, especially when I’m only starting out with Nix. :sob:

Is there a way to learn about the Nix packages themselves (for example, how they differ from similar ones) rather than the software packages they contain?

Problem is, sometimes a same Nix file is used to generate various packages.

Git is such an example: if you click, they will point to the same file at Nixpkgs.
All those Gits are more or less the same, differing in the options.

If I understood you correctly, the way would be editing the meta.description, like we do with Emacs Mainline vs Macport.

Some packages have a meta.description that varies based on the package arguments. That might be the optimal way to deal with some of these variants, because it puts all the description logic in one place.

Other packages, like the git series, have a lot of switches that can be toggled on or off, and for those cases maybe it would be better to hand-craft descriptions in top-level.nix instead of generating them in the package file:

gitFull: This package includes all optional features, including support for SVN, SSH, sending emails, and a GUI.