Is there any regular casual NixOS Online Meeting?

It would love to join, if there are regular (say weekly) online meetings to discuss anything NixOS where any topic can be discussed.

4 Likes

There used to be a video chat every two weeks that was called office hours, but that has been put on hold for a little while I think. Unfortunately I’m not aware of any other ones at the moment.

1 Like

Would you or anyone else like to resume it (we can call it anything we like)? :grinning:

It seems to me NixOS has so much potential and has achieved so much already but it really requires close human interaction due to its rapid development.

I have the online conference infrastructure that is probably well suited for this as well.

1 Like

I’m brand new to NixOS, some kind of podcast or weekly show would be great to help us newcomers learn what is going on.

1 Like

I have been a rather passive user of NixOS for 5 years or so but I still don’t know much and I think NixOS really is best appreciated interactively with someone experienced.

For example, I recently encountered 'Home Manager" and “Overlays”. They seem very useful but all seem to be in development? (sorry if that’s not true)

Yeah count me in if timezones line up. I’m sure a number of people would join. Let me know details when you have them.

1 Like

Great, where are you? I live near Tokyo.

I’m EST (Tokyo -13 hours) so I’m available between 8 PM until 11 AM your time.

Great, if there others also interested, please say so! :grinning:

1 Like

Hopefully graham and I can get Office Hours going again, I know it’s a great thing to have for everyone.
(https://github.com/worldofpeace/events/tree/master/office-hours)
(will un-archived when active to not give false impression)

4 Likes

I would be glad to join as well! (Japan time zone)

Please let me know if you start something!

2 Likes

I’m in a Japan-adjacent time zone :slight_smile:

2 Likes