Is this the current state of things?

I’ve been using Nix with NixOS as my daily driver for 6 months. Lately I’ve been trying to understand “what is the current state of Nix?” and this is what I understand:

1. There are many ways to do everything (flakes, flake-parts, flake-utils, custom nix, opinionated configurations like snowfall, etc).
  2. Each way requires boilerplate code.
  3. Each solution is essentially a bunch of functions that take care of most of the boilerplate, or adds modularity.
  4. Documentation is very divided about which way is the correct way.

Because of these things, it feels as if there is no correct way to go about doing things like creating packages, building packages, maintaining custom packages, creating development environments, or even supplying inputs to functions. This might suggest that it is not a bad idea, at this point in the nix ecosystem, to just write my own custom solutions to the boilerplate problems. Would you agree with that statement?

This is not meant to detract in any way from the incredible work from the nix community. I think that Nix is the best solution to package management that exists and I’m honored to see it evolve.

13 Likes

I think it’s more that there are many things to do.

Specifically:

• flake-parts is useful for writing projects that others depend on by making flake outputs more composable.
    • Using it for pure NixOS configurations does not strike me as a great idea, it adds nothing to that use case, since it’s not required for consuming flake-parts projects and doesn’t provide any additional utility for the NixOS module system. It only really makes sense if you provide other outputs, in which case your project requirements become more complex.
    • I’ll admit I don’t like the project in general, so far it’s only gotten in my way when I’ve tried it.
  • flake-utils is a random mix of utility functions, none of which are useful purely for a NixOS configuration