Jobs using NixOS

Hi everyone,

I’m looking to learn more about working with NixOS and having your occupation based around it’s use and/or implementation.

I was also curious to hear people’s experience with NixOS jobs - what it entails, any pros/cons, any advice for some switching to that career (I imagine more devops) particularly from an academic/health data science background.

Thank you in advance for any insight!

7 Likes

Honestly, almost any job in IT can be made a Nix job. :sweat_smile: That is at least my approach. I am an embedded software developer and I introduced Nix to the company when I started working there. It is now slowly getting used more and more. I know that this approach is not for everyone, but it is still a posibility if you want a Nix job.

7 Likes

IMO lot of Nix jobs consist of writing some Nix glue code to connect to the reality :smiley: Because everything can’t be pure and packaged in nixpkgs.

5 Likes

Understandable! You’ll probably just need people who are open minded enough to change their workflow and try it out. Seems like you’ve had some good luck so far, hopefully it’s been worth the effort!

3 Likes

Yea I think I can understand that - seems like it could be messy trying to use it in a real world setting. Is this an area that you are currently working in?

Somehow, I would say yes

I’m trying applying it here but a bit put off by:

• The amount of dead devops Nix projects
  • dream2nix being a bit hard to understand and use with our Typescript monorepo
2 Likes

I am a sole sysadmin / full stack dev for a (non-technical) SMB (but with a ton of old custom dev tech debt), and I manage a small fleet of instances in a hybrid (cloud and on-prem) environment. Started with standard terraform / ansible stack, then started using nixos on my personal machine and homelab (I think when unstable was 22.05). Once I got hooked and comfortable, moved the work stuff over to nixos as well.