Kdeconnect under hyprland is problematic

Hi, I’m a newbie here on NixOS and I’m wondering what is the problem with kdeconnect.
The two major issues are that I cannot neither copy something from the computer so it will be transmitted to my phone clipboard nor I can share a link with my phone so it will be opened in my computer browser
but when I enable the plasma dekstop option in configuration.nix
services.xserver.desktopManager.plasma5.enable
it magically works but the issue remain that my system become bloated and the themes are messy because they are no longer handled by home-mnager.

so sadly for the first time in my life I’m asking for help online :frowning: , hoping it will not take too long to get resolved.

I’m going to guess it’s a wayland vs xorg issue; xwayland has a separate clipboard from the wayland one, sometimes you end up not being to copy between applications because of it. Are the applications you’re copying from running under xwayland? Is kdeconnect somehow running under xwayland when not under plasma?

That could be a desktop portal thing, or a misconfiguration of xdg-open/mimeapps. What do systemctl status --user xdg-desktop-portal, systemctl status --user xdg-desktop-portal-hyprland, systemctl status --user xdg-desktop-portal-kde and xdg-mime query default x-scheme-handler/http give you?

Thank you for your quick response.

I don’t think so because when I run hyprctl clients it shows that it is not running under xwayland :

Window 3c6b170 -> Kdeconnect under hyprland is problematic - Help - NixOS Discourse — Mozilla Firefox:
        mapped: 1
        hidden: 0
        at: 7,51
        size: 1906,1022
        workspace: 1 (1)
        floating: 0
        monitor: 0
        class: firefox
        title: Kdeconnect under hyprland is problematic - Help - NixOS Discourse — Mozilla Firefox
        initialClass: firefox
        initialTitle: Mozilla Firefox
        pid: 2471
        xwayland: 0
        pinned: 0
        fullscreen: 0