Libusb-1.0.so not found in precompiled library

I have a pre-compiled library (libsomelib.so) and header file that references libusb-1.0.so, and which is a required library for a program I’m developing. As I’m new with nix, I thought I would create a flake to wrap the precompiled library:

flake.nix

{
    description = "A very basic flake";

inputs = {
        nixpkgs.url = "github:nixos/nixpkgs?ref=nixos-unstable";
    };

outputs = { self, nixpkgs }:
    let
      pkgs = nixpkgs.legacyPackages.x86_64-linux;
    in {
        packages.x86_64-linux.somelib = pkgs.stdenv.mkDerivation {
            pname = "somelib";
            version = "2.0.0";

src = ./.;

buildPhase = ''
                echo "...nothing to build...";
            '';

installPhase = ''
                echo "...installing to $out...";

mkdir -p $out/lib
                mkdir -p $out/include

cp -r somelibapi/*.h $out/include/
                cp -r somelibapi/*.so* $out/lib/
            '';

buildInputs = [
                pkgs.libusb1
            ];

nativeBuildInputs = [
                pkgs.libusb1
            ];
        };

devShells.x86_64-linux = pkgs.mkShell {
            packages = [
                pkgs.libusb1
                pkgs.pkg-config
            ];

buildInputs = [
                pkgs.libusb1
                pkgs.pkg-config
            ];

nativeBuildInputs = [
                pkgs.pkg-config
            ];
        };

packages.x86_64-linux.default = self.packages.x86_64-linux.somelib;
  };
}

The library seems to “build” correctly into a package and is installed in my nix store. However, when I link it with the larger project (using a separate flake), the linker gives me an warning the libusb-1.0.so.0 is not found.

For the hell of it, I ran ldd on the libsomelib.so file:

ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `./libsomelib.so'
        linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007ffedc764000)
        libusb-1.0.so.0 => not found