LMMS VST plugins

I’m new to nixos and lmms. I recently installed lmms and it worked great out of the box, but now I want to install Vital and other VSTs, but I’m not sure how to get them to work.
I noticed lmms doesn’t come with Vestige, so maybe there is some extra configuring I have to do, but otherwise, I think if I add a symlink to Vital in the lmms plugins directory it should work.
I’m running nixos stable 23.11 as a flake.

You’re right. LMMS needs wine for VST support, which isn’t present in the nixpkgs version.

You can open an issue here to get this fixed. I was going to suggest trying the AppImage, but it didn’t work for me. I see VeSTige, but it just hangs when I load a DLL.

I tried tunning the WIndows version in Wine with Lutris, and it the VST loads and works, but it has visual bugs.

Edit: I got everything working with LMMS in nixpkgs and I can load Linux and Windows VSTs now :partying_face:

Alright, these are the results of a few trips down the rabbit hole :rabbit:

I hid each section to make the post more readable, so just click the parts that interest you.

Native VSTs

Applications don’t know where the plugins are by default, so we need to define their paths in order to make them discoverable.

Setting VST Paths

Environment Variables

Setting the following variables in your configuration.nix will make audio programs detect any installed plugins:

environment.variables =
    let
      makePluginPath = format:
        (lib.makeSearchPath format [
          "$HOME/.nix-profile/lib"
          "/run/current-system/sw/lib"
          "/etc/profiles/per-user/$USER/lib"
        ])
        + ":$HOME/.${format}";
    in
    {
      DSSI_PATH = makePluginPath "dssi";
      LADSPA_PATH = makePluginPath "ladspa";
      LV2_PATH = makePluginPath "lv2";
      LXVST_PATH = makePluginPath "lxvst";
      VST_PATH = makePluginPath "vst";
      VST3_PATH = makePluginPath "vst3";
    };