LUKS on LVM external HDD, after HW scan system won't boot

Hi, I’m completely new to NixOS and after tinkering for the better part of two days I managed to install it. There’s a problem with LUKS though.

After mounting an external HDD that has LUKS on LVM, the “nixos-generate-config” command generates a “hardware-configuration.nix” that renders my PC unbootable after a rebuild.

I’m guessing there’s a problem with LVM on initrd. Anyways, I really don’t need the external drive to be available on stage 1 and I’d like to input the password during systemd launch, which I don’t know if its possible. I’d like the system to ask for a passphrase when the drive is present and not fail when it isn’t connected.

Back on Arch Linux I just added additional drives to /etc/crypttab and specified the nofail option on /etc/fstab but NixOS doesn’t have crypttab.

What do I do? What is the best way to do this?

[NixOS 20.09 channel. LUKS on LVM on mdadm root, EFI partition mounted at /etc/boot, using GRUB as bootmanager]

My GRUB config:

boot.loader.grub = {
      enable = true;
      version = 2;
      device = "nodev";
      efiSupport = true;
      enableCryptodisk = true;
    };
  boot.loader.efi.canTouchEfiVariables = true;

EDIT: It turns out “/etc/crypttab” is also read by systemd at boot on NixOS. This lets me type the passphrase after root has been mounted.

However the generated “hardware-configuration.nix” still makes the system unbootable. I have to modify it or otherwise I can’t rebuild:

## Commented out the offending line:
#  boot.initrd.luks.devices."ilanders-crypt".device = "/dev/disk/by-uuid/[uuidhere]"

Perhaps there is a way to modify “configuration.nix” instead but I haven’t figured out how to do it yet. Any thoughts?

There really ought to be an option in the luks options for opening the volume in stage two with /etc/crypttab. Maybe I’ll give that a go this evening…

1 Like