Maddy service tls config from wiki fails

hey there,
i am really new to nix and nixos and tbh have been struggling.
i am starting to get nix as a package manager but am still truly in the dark on nixos.
i do have a server though running nixos and i was trying to set up maddy with tls as described on the wiki.
for reference:

# Enable TLS listeners. Configuring this via the module is not yet
  # implemented, see https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/pull/153372
  config = builtins.replaceStrings [
    "imap tcp://0.0.0.0:143"
    "submission tcp://0.0.0.0:587"
  ] [
    "imap tls://0.0.0.0:993 tcp://0.0.0.0:143"
    "submission tls://0.0.0.0:465 tcp://0.0.0.0:587"
  ] options.services.maddy.config.default;

however that fails on option being undefined - makes sense.
however i have no clue of what i should supply instead.

if you can help me figure out what to pass instead that would be really great. i would also very much appreciate some pointers on where my understanding of nixos is wrong, whats actually going on, or how i should approach such a situation

i tried this

• doing the replace on config.services.maddy.config.default (which would supply the right value i checked with the repl) leads to a recursion error

• i tried passing it via a variable that i define before (in hope that it would have cloned the data) via a let maddy_base_conf = config.services.maddy.config.default; in { ... } to no avail.
  • then i thought overlays might be the answer and i define one but there i could never access the prev.maddy.config attr - which now also makes sense as that is the package config and not the service config (if i got that correctly)

• same went for the prev.maddy.overrideAttrs (attrs: { config = stringReplaceOnThe_attrs_varHere} )
      that went where the keys of attrs where:
      GOARCH GOFLAGS GOOS buildInputs buildPhase checkPhase
      configurePhase disallowedReferences doCheck enableParallelBuilding