Manage configs/dotfiles with git repositories

Hello! I recently found out about NixOS and I absolutely fell in love with the premises. I am, as a complete noob, testing in a VM to check if I could use it as my daily driver, but I am right now in a hard moment of the learning curve.

I have my Emacs configuration in a git repository, that I would like to include in my nix configuration so that it is alway present. Right now the closest thing that I found is home-manager, which I am almost sure is the way to go. Using the first functions declared in the linked example of the wiki (yrashk/nix-home), especially fetchLatestGit I am able to get the configuration exactly in the location I wanted to automatically. However, this function just gets the source code - I am more interesting in actually cloning the repository for this. I am constantly tweaking the configuration and I need to push the changes upstream in any case. I was not able to find the proper way to do this, is there function for something like this?

I am also interested: how have you solved problems similar to this? I feel like a little bit of creativity could work around it just fine, but I am still not savvy enough in nix to find the proper way to do it.

6 Likes

I would recommend the following collection of NixOS users managing their homes/machines:
https://nixos.wiki/wiki/Configuration_Collection
e.g. afaik John Wiegley is using home manager: GitHub - jwiegley/nix-config: My local Nix configuration
from my behalf i resist to use home-manager and do everything with the activation scripts of nix-darwin: GitHub - periklis/nix-config: My personal declarative macOS machine configuration

1 Like

I keep my home-manager config in Seafile and also on GitHub - manveru/dotfiles: Just my dotfiles for home-manager
That makes sure that they’re always synced across my machines, but also in case of something going horribly wrong I have a backup on GitHub.

1 Like