Md5 deprecated?

Nix has deprecated the support of md5 in fetchurl. I am no security expert but as far as I know md5 is still secure for checking file security.

I am asking because when I opened a new pull request to simply update the amazon-ecs-cli derivation I noticed that amazon also publishes the md5 hashes of the version (see this link. So it seemed natural to use the official md5 hash in fetchurl which is unfortunately not possible.

So what is the official position regard md5 for nix?

Checking if a file matches a certain hash - so that we can be certain that the content of a file isn’t changed later - is one of the use cases that is definitely broken for md5, i.e. MD5 - Wikipedia

I don’t think arbitrary collisions are possible yet, but an attacker can e.g. produce a version that has a backdoor and one that doesn’t with the same MD5 hash, release the later first, wait a while and replace it with the backdoored one.

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer. That makes a lot of sense.

But isn’t the case I mentioned above different? I mean I already have the official md5 from amazon and therefore I trust that md5. Isn’t it then about second-preimage-resistance and against such an attack md5 is still secure as far as I know?

So for the use case: if there is an official and thus trustworthy hash available, md5 would still be a good option as it is both safe and fast. I mean why would amazon otherwise provide official md5 hashes.

MD5 can still be used for checksums to protect against accidental file corruptions (bit flips, transmission errors, etc.) but from a security standpoint it is completely broken for many years now and should not be used anymore. See e.g. MD5 - Wikipedia. Even SHA-1 shouldn’t be used for security anymore (e.g. https://shattered.io/ and subsequent attacks - some usages are theoretically still fine, but IMO there’s simply no point if there are better alternatives and transitioning often takes time).