Need help installing custom script (from a flake) into my config AND in a nix shell

Hello, I’m new to nix, it’s been a one-month journey so far, but I love it already. Recently, I created my first flake; it’s almost identical to the “overengineered hello” template from nix flake init. The script is a maintenance script to help with recurring tasks; also it’s not so useful, it makes me practice, please don’t judge.

Anyway, I need that script installed as part of my configuration for everyday usage, but also part of a nix shell I plan to use for bootstrapping.

For the nix shell, I have absolutely no idea how to install it, as I can’t find a way to add another flake than the nixpkgs one. So that’s the first thing I’d like to find out.

The second thing is about the “regular” install, I found more resources discussing that, but I cannot make it work. I added the repo as a flake:

{
  description = "Nindouja's flake";

outputs = { ...  }:  {
  };

inputs = {
    ninja-script = {
      url = "git+https://gitlab.vba.ovh/snippets/3.git";
      inputs.nixpkgs.follows = "nixpkgs";
    };
  };
}

And to install it like so in home manager (also tried in system config):

{pkgs, ...}: {
  home.packages = with pkgs; [
    #ninja-script.defaultPackage
  ];
}

In both cases I got this error and I don’t know how to interpret it.

error: attribute 'override' missing

at /nix/store/g861759ghxxwvyfdbv17xf3iahgm8rcb-source/pkgs/stdenv/darwin/default.nix:461:15:

460|
          461|       ninja = super.ninja.override { buildDocs = false; };
             |               ^
          462|

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I managed to install it !! For future references, I used this syntax in my home/system packages:
ninja.packages.${system}.ninja
(I renamed it from ninja-script to ninja but that’s not relevant; the important part is the ${system} part

I’m gonna start looking to add it to my shell now I have more info. But I still have no idea how to add my flake as an input.