New to NixOs, trouble with NixOps

Hello, I’m very new to NixOs and desperately trying to get a Github repository running. It is a project called THERMOS, a software for modelling distributed heating networks. It was funded by an EU project and is now open source.

What I’m trying is to get a THERMOS server running on my local machine. The project require a PostGreSQL server and PostGIS. There is a nix expression 110-thermos-ui/dev/pg-server.nix at 99465d7606862d64b9b86a63505954060ba2762c · cse-bristol/110-thermos-ui · GitHub which should install both, SQL server and PostGIS. Further the project requires Clojure.

While I’m usually working with Ubuntu, I thougt NixOs would be the better option for this time. So, I installed NixOS 23.11 and the nix packages for OpendJDK and nixos_unstable.

In the source code of this expression mentioned above I found a line
nixops create -d pg-server pg-server.nix

I tried to run this, but I get just some error messages like pg-server was an unknown argument.

I would be very grateful for any advice or support.

sure, let’s take some time to work through your challenges

you said you want to install this on your local machine - does that mean you have NixOS installed on your local machine? or do you want to run this in some sort of container on your local machine?

please clarify what OS you are running on your local machine already, specifically what OS you want to be running on your local machine, and whether your goal was to be using containers or not

thanks

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for your reply! I’ve installed NixOS 23.11 on a new partition. As I wrote, I use to work with Ubuntu 22.04 LTS.

Using containers (Docker) would be a nice option, but this would require deeper knowledge about NixOS and containers. A dedicated NixOS partition would be the easier way, I thougt.

great

in that case let’s forget NixOps and just work with your current NixOS install

you will want to add the following configuration to your configuration.nix: