Newcomer to step-ca

I am new to step-ca, and was delighted to discover we already have a module for it (thank you @mohe2015 and co)!

However, I have some questions that are so basic I can’t see them quite described anywhere in the docs.

To get step-ca up and running on NixOS, my steps so far are:

1. nix-shell -p step-cli
  2. step ca init (and follow the prompts)
  3. Copy the full output structure, from ~/.step/ to /var/lib/step-ca/ by hand.
  4. Copy the generated password printed during the interactive setup into a secrets file (I chose /var/lib/secrets/step-ca/intermediatePasswordFile), also by hand.
  5. Configure the module, including by referencing /var/lib/step-ca/config/ca.json, and nixos-rebuild

Now, this seems to work? But, it feels rather manual. Is this the intended flow?

Also, interacting with the running step-ca server from the cli isn’t very natural, as the STEPPATH environment variable isn’t set to point to it. Are we expected to set this ourselves as individual users, or is it something the step-ca module would do for us?

1 Like

I would like to point out that I did it exactly the same way. So if there is a better way, it sounds like we have a documentation problem.

Thanks @peterhoeg, that’s actually good to know I’m not totally off track.

In fiddling around with it some more, I have a more serious question.

I only just noticed that the module places the config file in /etc/smallstep/ca.json (and passes this path to step-ca in ExecStart). However, it leaves the STEPPATH environment variable as-is (which seems to be set to /etc/step-ca by the upstream systemd service file – a location that is not used at all by this module), and further, appears to add a new HOME environment variable set to /var/lib/step-ca, which I can’t see being used anywhere.

By my reading, STEPPATH points to a nonexistent location, and, the completely-unused environment variable HOME points to our actual (I think?) desired config location.