Nix 2.20 incompatible with modern git (local flake can't build)?

I’m not an expert, but I have a home-manager config managed with fleek on a non-NixOS system. When I went to install it on a new system yesterday, I’m suddenly always getting a nix error.

Narrowing it down, I have a local nix flake thats a git repo (which happens to be a fleek managed home-manager config). The first time I do nix build on the flake it works. If I make any change at all to the repo and commit the change, the next nix build fails with the error:

error:
    ... while fetching the input 'git+file:///home/{user}/.local/share/fleek
    error: getting working directory status: invalid data in index - calculated checksum does not match expected

If I try to run any nix commands that involve the store, I get the same error an no further results. If I delete my flake and re-clone it, I get the same error still. Bascially, once I get the error I haven’t found any way to get rid of it other than to uninstall nix entirely and re-install it.

The only debug info I can get is by running nix store verify --debug, which just tells me that one of the derivations in the flake is being evaluated when the error occurs. No details at all about the actual error it’s saying occurred.

I’m beginning to think this might be a major bug in nix 2.20.3, because that’s the latest version of nix and the one that gets installed by default with the Determinate Nix Installer I’ve been using. My existing systems that are on Nix 2.18.1 are still working fine when using the identical flake and when making changes and rebuilding the flake. I’ve reproduced the error on 3 different systems now, all of them using the same config and receiving different changes as the first change after the initial nix build.