Nix and Clojure

The last post asking about the state of Clojure in Nix is about 1.5 years old. I checked the links and it seems that nothing has changed, is that correct? I don’t know much about maven and clojure build tooling but I’d like to code a bit in Clojure and I’d obviously like to use Nix for it. Is there someone who’d be kind enough to summarize the difficulty in using Nix for Clojure development? Is there any project or branch of a specific project I could contribute to and at least offer some time and effort, even in the absence of expertise with regards to Clojure?

6 Likes

Hi
I’m a Clojure user, and although I’m new to Nix as well, I’ve been able to package my own projects.
It was difficult though.

First of all, the nixpkgs support for clojure is rather limited. There is a clj2nix package to convert deps.edn to a nix file, but it doesn’t support some cases, such as cljfx. Which is because the maven downloader does not support classifiers…

To package your project as a Nix package, nix-build a project using Leiningen will not work, because it needs internet access to download dependencies. And Internet access is forbidden by nix-build for valid reasons.

Ideally clojure (deps.edn) projects are build in the same way as Go projects, there is a really easy to use Go module builder in Nix.

Now, here one simple example of how I have packaged a local project with simple dependencies:

{ pkgs ? import <nixpkgs> {} }:
let
  cljdeps = pkgs.callPackage ./deps.nix { };
  classp = cljdeps.makeClasspaths { };
  execName = "qif-edn";
  mainClass = "qif-edn.core";

manifest = pkgs.writeText "${execName}-MANIFEST.MF" ''
    Manifest-Version: 1.0
    Main-Class: ${mainClass}

'';
in pkgs.stdenv.mkDerivation {
  name = execName;

nativeBuildInputs = [ pkgs.jdk pkgs.makeWrapper ];

buildInputs = map (x: x.path) cljdeps.packages;

src = ./src;

phases = [ "unpackPhase" "buildPhase" "installPhase" ];

buildPhase = ''
    mkdir classes