~/.nix-profile existing causes black screen

I’ve been using Nix for a few months now via home-manager and it’s worked well. However yesterday when I rebooted and logged into my user on Kubuntu as per usual, the screen this time was entirely black.

After much debugging I determined that the symlink ~/.nix-profile/nix/var/nix/profiles/per-user/myuser/profile causes this error. Without it the symlink existing I of course cannot access any of my existing Nix packages, so can I get some tips for how to debug what specifically is causing the issue?

PC: Dell XPS 13
nix (Nix) 2.13.3

I doubt it’s the symlink existing, it’s more likely that something reads configuration through the symlink, or some autostarted application has its binary in there, and you removing it makes that thing simply not happen. Said thing will be causing the black screen.

Can we get logs from journalctl -t xsession? Ideally you log in, let the black screen happen, then switch to another tty (using e.g. Ctrl+Alt+F3), log in and use:

journalctl -t xsession --boot > xsession.log

And then share the contents of xsession.log with us.

The file only contains -- No entries --.

An error shows up when I log into my user via tty, not sure if it’s relevant:
/home/boss/.nix-profile/bin/manpath: can't set the locale: make sure $LC_* and $LANG are correct. I did some searching and found those two variables seem to be correct in the file I found them in however.

Oh, whoops, sorry, I misread that, thought you were on NixOS. I’m not sure if/where Kubuntu will put your session logs. You can try journalctl --boot without the -t xsession to see the full logs of the current boot, with any luck what’s going wrong would be near the end of the logs. Depending on whether you use X or wayland some files in /var/log/Xorg might be useful too.

Edit: this was only a temporary fix.