NixOS module of Prosody is missing crucial functionalities, making it unusable

I am very new to NixOS, correct me if I am wrong.
I am trying to migrate my prosody server to NixOS, since the previous OS (not linux) I was using was missing some packages that prosody needed for siskin (an iOS client).

While I am translating the prosody.cfg.lua settings into nix, I found that the prosody module is missing crucial functionalities.

The main issue is that I cannot find an option to add muc modules.
According to the documents in Components in Prosody – Prosody IM :

Some modules such as mod_muc_mam enable additional functionality for a Component. These must not be enabled in the global modules_enabled, but rather in a modules_enabled under the Component, like so:

Component "conference.jabber.org" "muc"
modules_enabled = {
   "muc_mam",
}

I need to add a lot of community muc modules here ( namely muc_notifications, muc_mention_notifications, muc_cloud_notify, muc_offline_delivery, muc_local_only, muc_moderation,
) but not globally. Some of them are essentials for iOS clients to work properly in muc (to get notification).

I thought there should be some extraModules option in the nixos module specifically for muc, but seems not.

There are no options for us to add extra muc modules here.
My main purpose of the server is prosody. Please help!!
Thank you very much!

You can override the prosody module by copying https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/blob/d02ffbbe834b5599fc5f134e644e49397eb07188/nixos/modules/services/networking/prosody.nix to your configuration and importing it like this:

{
  imports = [ ./prosody.nix ];
  disabledModules = [ "services/networking/prosody.nix" ];
}

Then you should be able to modify the module the way you want. Bonus points if you submit a pull request to nixpkgs with your changes for the benefit of everyone

4 Likes

I didn’t know we can do this, I will figure it out after I successfully configure my server!
Thank you very much for your help!