Nixos vs Ansible

I know this sound kinda click-bait, but recently tech youtuber wolfgang upload a video in where he speaks about his home server, moreover in the video they acknowledge nixos and ansible as two good options to reproducibility setups.

My question here is: From a friendly perspective (I’m still a noob) which is the advantages of running nixos over running ansible which support more linux distros (Debian based, arch, etc…) what are the advantages of each one, beyond reproducibility.

3 Likes

The main philosophical differences are imperative vs declarative programming.

Ansible playbooks are sequential steps taken to reach a hopefully desired end-state.

NixOS configurations are a “manifest” of the end-state you want, and then the nixos modules will contain the logic around their slice of the system configuration.

I haven’t used ansible for a few years, so I can’t comment much further. But the other notable difference I notice with Nix (in general) is that your complexity percolates up to the top and you have to deal with it immediately. I would argue that this makes it easier to iterate in the long run, but many people try nix and find it off-putting since their original and impure processes often translate poorly into nix.

17 Likes

the practical difference is, that nor nixos nor ansible provide true reproducibility in most cases. But nix setups are much closer to that, and usually are simpler to troubleshoot in my opinion(due to it being declarativly defined) . Where’s ansible if it failed(like the state has been altered outside of ansible’s scope) you’re mostly fucked, and will have to do some manual work, to get it to work the way you intended it.

Positive with ansible is that to troubleshoot it you only need to know how to manage linux systems, with nix you need to know how nix works and how to manage linux systems and what are the caveats with managing it with nix

1 Like