Packaging a dynamic website

I’m pretty new to Nix, I have been using NixOS for a year and I have written a few Python derivations and I think I understand more or less the basic concepts.

I recently started using Nixops and liked it a lot, and I thought I’d migrate one of my Debian servers to NixOS. So I’m trying to package a website that is hosted on this server.

The website is made with Python/Django, and uses webpack to build the frontend assets. I managed to generate derivations for the Python part using mach-nix, and for the frontend part using node2nix. I’m using these derivations in a third derivation which contains both the Python code and the compiled JS/CSS files like so:

with import <nixpkgs> { };

let
  src = builtins.fetchGit {
    url = ./.;
    rev = "7bda671b2f52e48507497059a88b6a6f776e76bc";
  };

mach-nix = import (builtins.fetchGit {
    url = "https://github.com/DavHau/mach-nix/";
    ref = "refs/tags/3.1.1";
  }) { };

pyenv = mach-nix.mkPython {
    requirements = builtins.readFile ./requirements/base.txt;
  };

nodeEnv = callPackage ./node-env.nix {
    nodejs = pkgs.nodejs-12_x;
    libtool = if pkgs.stdenv.isDarwin then pkgs.darwin.cctools else null;
  };

nodePackages = callPackage ./node-packages.nix { inherit nodeEnv; };

nodeArgs = nodePackages.args // {
    production = false;
    src = builtins.filterSource (path: type:
      /. + path == ./package.json || /. + path == ./package-lock.json) ./.;
    dontNpmInstall = true;
  };

nodeShell = nodeEnv.buildNodeShell nodeArgs;

nodeDependencies = stdenv.mkDerivation {
    name = "mywebsite-front";
    src = src;
    installPhase = ''
      ln -s ${nodeShell.nodeDependencies}/lib/node_modules ./node_modules
      export PATH="${nodeShell.nodeDependencies}/bin:$PATH"
      NODE_ENV=production webpack
      mkdir $out
      cp -r dist/* $out/
    '';
  };

in python3Packages.buildPythonPackage {
  propagatedBuildInputs = [ pyenv ];
  name = "mywebsite";
  src = src;
  doCheck = false;