Packaging upstream when there's already a fork using the upstream name

I wanted to add openzwave support to domoticz. It was pretty straightforward to do (See my branch with the necessary changes), and I have been using it for a few months now. However, there is an issue which prevents me contributing the change to nixpkgs in its current state: There is already a package called “openzwave” in nixpkgs, but it’s built from a fork, home-assistant/open-zwave rather than the upstream OpenZWave/open-zwave. The two branches have significant differences, and the home-assistant one is not compatible with domoticz.

Simply changing it to build from the upstream sources (as I have done in my branch) almost certainly breaks home-assistant, which was previously the only package that depended on openzwave.

If we were starting from scratch, without any openzwave package I assume the logical thing to do would be to have two packages, one called openzwave, built from the upstream sources, and one called something like home-assistant-openzwave, built from the fork and with that fact clearly stated in meta.description.

Given that we already have the home-assistant version using the openzwave name, should we:

1. Make openzwave the upstream version, and create a new package for the home-assistant version. We can avoid breaking home-assistant by changing it to depend on the new package. The only problem would be if a user has their own default.nix, shell.nix or configuration.nix which depends on pkgs.openzwave and expects the home-assistant version (Though presumably a simple version update could break their system just as badly).
  2. Assume that package names are allocated on a first-come-first-served basis and shouldn’t change meaning. Leave the existing openzwave package alone and package the upstream version as something else, e.g. openzwave-openzwave or the-real-openzwave.