Searching basic but working 24.05 Plasma6 config file

Hi there!

I’m new to NixOS.

I’ve installed NixOS besides my Manjaro KDE installation on my Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen1 laptop. The Calamares installer failed for me, probably because it doesn’t support installing on an existing luks+btrfs setup. So I followed the (very nicely written) manual installation guide at NixOS Manual which got me a working bootloader that manages to get me to a (much too tiny not highdpi-screen aware) login screen. Sadly, from there I don’t manage to enter the Plasma6 desktop I think I’ve installed. It just freezes upon entering a correct user+password combination. I’ve tried both the Wayland and the X11 sessions from the drop-down but both just make the login screen hang (I still can move the mouse pointer). When choosing the X11 session the mouse pointer changes to that “typical old looking” X-Symbol.

I’m able to switch to a TTY session from the login manager and used this to set my users password, since I didn’t see how to do that in the manual installation guide, which only prompted me to set root’s password.

Below the modified config files originially generated by nixos-generate-config:

configuration.nix

# Edit this configuration file to define what should be installed on
# your system. Help is available in the configuration.nix(5) man page, on
# https://search.nixos.org/options and in the NixOS manual (`nixos-help`).

{ config, lib, pkgs, ... }:

{
  imports =
    [ # Include the results of the hardware scan.
      ./hardware-configuration.nix
    ];

# Use the systemd-boot EFI boot loader.
  boot.loader.systemd-boot.enable = true;
  boot.loader.efi.efiSysMountPoint = "/boot/efi";
  boot.loader.efi.canTouchEfiVariables = true;

# networking.hostName = "nixos"; # Define your hostname.
  # Pick only one of the below networking options.
  # networking.wireless.enable = true;  # Enables wireless support via wpa_supplicant.