Problems with poetry2nix and matplotlib

I am just starting out in developing a workflow in python to do mostly systems engineering and data science.
I found poetry2nix and chose this solution since it seemed to be the best of all worlds. Portable environment with poetry which manages all the python packages and then a flake to manage other dependencies and integrate well with nix.
However when importing matplotlib i get the following error:

>>> import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/__init__.py", line 161, in <module>
    from . import _api, _version, cbook, _docstring, rcsetup
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/rcsetup.py", line 27, in <module>
    from matplotlib.colors import Colormap, is_color_like
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/colors.py", line 57, in <module>
    from matplotlib import _api, _cm, cbook, scale
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/scale.py", line 22, in <module>
    from matplotlib.ticker import (
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/ticker.py", line 143, in <module>
    from matplotlib import transforms as mtransforms
  File "/home/marci/.cache/pypoetry/virtualenvs/app-ZnXbtN1Y-py3.11/lib/python3.11/site-packages/matplotlib/transforms.py", line 49, in <module>
    from matplotlib._path import (
ImportError: libstdc++.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Steps to reproduce:

1. nix flake init --template github:nix-community/poetry2nix
  2. nix develop
  3. poetry add matplotlib
  4. poetry run python
  5. import matplotlib.plot as plt