Prototyping NixOS configuration on Ubuntu: question about graphics

Hello,

I am a beginner NixOS enthusiast trying to develop my own configuration in a fast feedback loop.
At the moment, my daily driver is Ubuntu.

I would like to develop a NixOS configuration using my current Ubuntu setup first. In theory, such a configuration should more or less be usable in the final installation.
The plan is to eventually build my custom iso using GitHub - nix-community/nixos-generators: Collection of image builders [maintainer=@Lassulus].

So far, I have used this tutorial: NixOS virtual machines — nix.dev documentation.

I build my NixOS prototype with

nix-build '<nixpkgs/nixos>' -A vm \
-I nixpkgs=channel:nixos-23.11 \
-I nixos-config=./configuration.nix

and I run it with

QEMU_KERNEL_PARAMS=console=ttyS0 ./result/bin/run-nixos-vm -nographic; reset

The feedback loop is very short.

Now, my goal is to somehow set up graphical environment.
My GPU is 1080Ti. It would be perfect to use it in qemu.
I don’t need full performance.
My goal is to prototype configuration of gui applications, so it can later be used in the regular NixOS installation.

I have read most of the posts related to qemu on this forum.
I have tried adding gnome to my configuration, but nothing seems to work.
When I boot up qemu with flag -display gtk I get errors like

Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"

Below are links to the configuration I use:

Attempts of using gpu inside of qemu:

The nvidia-gl.nix, when in the modules list, does not install nvidia-settings for some reason.

I have found a promising configuration: GitHub - donovanglover/nix-config: My NixOS configuration with Nix Flakes, Home Manager, Stylix, and Hyprland., but the building instruction will work only within NixOS.
I have tried nix build and stuff, but to no avail.

The questions are:

1. Is the idea of prototyping NixOS configuration like that feasible? Maybe it’s better to just install NixOS and play with it directly?