Put My full configuration in git

Hi,
I’m new to nix but kinda like the idea.
I want to have all my config declaratively stateted in config file. To do that I need to use home manager I believe because home manager have the ability to control so called dotfiles.
But ti enable homemanager channel declaratively I need flakes, also flakes help with version switching and … my head is complete mess I and I don’t understand how to accomplish the task.

Can you share your config and probably explain how to have I all my setup declaratively stated in few files

There’s a collection of people’s personal configs here, however if you’re just starting out, they’ll probably mostly be too complex to help you.

There are 6 ways to install home-manager:

• nonflake + standalone
  • nonflake + nixos module (nixos specific)
  • nonflake + nix-darwin module (macos specific)
  • flake + standalone
  • flake + nixos module (nixos specific)
  • flake + nix-darwin module (macos specific)

The home-manager manual has a section on setting up home-manager standalone with a flake, along with other sections for the other 5 modes.

You can try the (arguably) simplest mode first (nonflake + standalone), then convert your config later, if you’re feeling overwhelmed.

4 Likes

Thanks
I looked at few sources to help me with my own setup with flakes and home manager but I have some troubles. Here is my flake so far

{
  description = "System config";

inputs = {
    # nixpkgs.url  = "nixpkgs/nixos-22.11";
    nixpkgs.url  = "github:nixos/nixpkgs/nixos-22.11";
    #home-manager.url = "github:nix-community/home-manager/release-22.11";
    #home-manager.inputs.nixpkgs.follow = "nixpkgs";
    home-manager = {
      url = "github:nix-community/home-manager/release-22.11";
      inputs.nixpkgs.follows = "nixpkgs";
    };
  };

outputs = { nixpkgs, home-manager, ... }:
    let 
      system = "x86-64-linux";
      pkgs = import nixpkgs {
        inherit system;
        config = {allowUnfree = true;};