Right way to install Kodi and plugins?

So, I’ve been using NixOS for a bit now, but I’m pretty confused about getting Kodi to work. I’m also new to Kodi, so its likely that I’m doing something wrong.

I have the following file: kodi.nix which I’m importing to configuration.nix.

However, I see no plugins on the interface. There seems to be conflicting documentation on the NixOS wiki vs. some GitHub issues like these.

Almost. Take your kodi expression and put in services.xserver.desktopManager.kodi.package instead of environment.systemPackages.

Let me know if you have any issues.

1 Like

That did the trick! Thanks!
I had been toying with that idea, but my impression was modifying the systemPackages would wire it in directly.

Glad to hear you’re up and running!

On a sidenote: Is it just me or is Kodi pretty unstable?
I’ve been having crashes with YouTube, Netflix (with DRM etc.).

I used the netflix plugin for roughly 10 months and found it to be reasonably stable. Sometimes kodi just randomly crashes, but all my htpc boxes launch kodi as a systemd user service that have automatic restarts enabled so a crash in the menu isn’t a huge deal.

Every once in a while I wonder what it would take for me to switch from kodi to something else but cec integration combined with my steam plugin really makes kodi unbeatable for my family… so we just live with the occasional crash once in a while :man_shrugging:

I’ve even been debating just going for something like XFCE and using a bluetooth mouse/touchpad as a remote. With some optimizations (onscreen keyboards etc.), I believe a setup like that could even offer tremendous flexibility without having to deal with Kodi (and all the plugins that have not really been stable for me, at least).

So if you use this code below in your configuration.nix you can install plugins on Kodi?

services.xserver.desktopManager.kodi.package  = [
  (kodiPlugins.kodiWithPlugins (pkgs: with pkgs; [
      kodiPlugins.osmc-skin
  ]))
];