Simple deployment strategy using nix-copy-closure

Hello!

I’ve been working superficially with NixOS and Nixops for a few years but only recently tried to develop a deep understanding of the ecosystem. One of my goals is to replace Nixops with a simpler and more transparent deployment system, and I wanted to share the method I’ve come up with here. Now that I have it working, it’s hard to imagine wanting to deploy any other way, so I’m interested to see what others think.

In this specific example I’ll be cross-compiling for a Raspberry Pi system.

Side note: I am vaguely aware of nixos-rebuild --target-host, which maybe overlaps with a lot of what I’m doing here. Perhaps the main advantage of my method is that you only have to enter your remote sudo password once?

I’ll go through the main parts of the deployment setup below:

The basic idea

I have a configuration.nix describing a Raspberry Pi system. I want to build the whole system profile locally by simply running nix-build, copy the result to the remote system, then run nixos-rebuild --switch there and have it switch to the new profile without having to build anything on the slow Pi processor.

Pinning nixpkgs

Pinning is essential so that you can build the correct versions of all the packages locally. There are a lot of ways to do it, but I use this (both in default.nix and configuration.nix) to select a recent 24.05 commit:

pinned-nixpkgs = fetchTarball {
    sha256 = "sha256:1rzdqgs00vzw69m569li3c6yvkdlqf7zihiivi4n83lfqginr7ar";
    url = "https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/archive/0b8e7a1ae5a94da2e1ee3f3030a32020f6254105.tar.gz";
  };

pkgs = (import pinned-nixpkgs { });

In configuration.nix, pkgs definition also requires an system argument to specify the Raspberry Pi architecture.

(I do not use fetchFromGitHub here to avoid depending on multiple versions of nixpkgs.)

Setting up your local OS for cross-compilation