Slow application startup

Newbie here

I installed NixOS a few days ago and I use Sway as my WM. The big problem is that every application has a really long startup time.
Take Nautilus (GNOME File Manager) as an example. It takes ~30-40 seconds to start. Same goes for Firefox, Steam, and pretty much every other program I have installed. This also is the case for flatpak applications.
I suspect it has something to do with the xdg-desktop-portal.

Here are my config files:

And here some program information:

I would be glad for any help or hint you might have. Thank you in advance.

It would be useful to know what kind of hardware you’re running on.

Do you have a persistent .cache/mesa_shader_cache/ directory? Programs require shaders compiling at first start, it can take a while (but certainly not so much time, but this would depend of your specs)

• AMD Radeon RX6700XT
  • AMD Ryzen 9500X
  • AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
  • 16 GB Ram

I should have. I’m not home right now, I’ll check it out later.
Yes, I have a persistent .cache dir. It contains a mesa_shader_cache directory.

That’s not a real product :stuck_out_tongue: But it doesn’t matter; I was mostly asking in case you were running on either very weird or very old hardware. If that’s not the case then it’s very odd to have this problem.

Yes, I’m stupid. I actually use a 9 3900X :sweat_smile:

I found a temporary solution to this problem.
Where there was

xdg.portal = {
  enable = true;
  wlr.enable = true;
  extraPortals = with pkgs; [
    xdg-desktop-portal-gtk
    xdg-desktop-portal-gnome
  ]
};

I removed xdg-desktop-portal-gnome.
I now don’t have a desktop portal for GNOME apps (Nautilus, etc.) but applications start as expected. This is kind of weird, because using both desktop portals on Arch worked just fine for me. I will definitely look further into this.
Thank y’all for your replies.

Look in the env vars, IIRC there was a debug var to force portals that would cause insane load times when set.