Specifying location of non-Haskell libraries in Haskell derivation

I’m new to nix, and am trying to get a Haskell program depending on inline-r running. During compliation, this requires libR.so, and I’m having some difficulty getting this to be found in the environment.

default.nix

let
  config = {
    packageOverrides = pkgs: rec {
      haskellPackages = pkgs.haskellPackages.override {
        overrides = haskellPackagesNew: haskellPackagesOld: rec {
          nix-mwe =
            haskellPackagesNew.callPackage ./cabal.nix {
              R = pkgs.rWrapper.override {
                    packages = with pkgs.rPackages; [ dplyr ];
                    };
            };
        };
      };
    };
  };

pkgs = import <nixpkgs> { inherit config; };
in
  pkgs.haskellPackages.nix-mwe

cabal.nix (generated from package.yaml by cabal2nix)

{ mkDerivation, base, hpack, inline-r, pkgconfig, R, stdenv }:
mkDerivation {
  pname = "nix-mwe";
  version = "0.0.0";
  src = ./.;
  isLibrary = true;
  isExecutable = true;
  libraryHaskellDepends = [ base inline-r ];
  libraryPkgconfigDepends = [ R ];
  libraryToolDepends = [ hpack pkgconfig ];
  executableHaskellDepends = [ base ];
  prePatch = "hpack";
  license = "unknown";
  hydraPlatforms = stdenv.lib.platforms.none;
}

Running nix-build fails with the following message:

CallStack (from HasCallStack):
  die', called at libraries/Cabal/Cabal/Distribution/Simple/Configure.hs:1508:37 in Cabal-2.4.0.1:Distribution.Simple.Configure
  configurePkgconfigPackages, called at libraries/Cabal/Cabal/Distribution/Simple/Configure.hs:579:7 in Cabal-2.4.0.1:Distribution.Simple.Configure
  configure, called at libraries/Cabal/Cabal/Distribution/Simple.hs:596:20 in Cabal-2.4.0.1:Distribution.Simple
  confHook, called at libraries/Cabal/Cabal/Distribution/Simple/UserHooks.hs:67:5 in Cabal-2.4.0.1:Distribution.Simple.UserHooks
  configureAction, called at libraries/Cabal/Cabal/Distribution/Simple.hs:178:19 in Cabal-2.4.0.1:Distribution.Simple