SteamOS 3.5.7+ Nix Configuration

Greetings!
As of the recent updates to the Steam Deck’s stable channel (running STeamOS 3.5.5+) there is now a /nix directory.
I’ve gone ahead and chowned it to deck:deck so the installer could access it.
After running the single-user installer everything seems fine except for when I want to install unfree applications- does anyone know where the single-user nix installer would put the configuration.nix file? Everything seems to either be in my home folder or /nix but I can’t seem to find it.

1 Like

Here’s an example of me trying to install unrar on the Deck. Be gentle with me, as I’m new to nixpkgs.

(deck@gabegearlcd .config)$ nix-env --install unrar
installing 'unrar-6.2.12'
error:
       … in the condition of the assert statement

at /nix/store/nlm3wz58fjzcbf7d9csf2czxmrvsk65k-nixpkgs/nixpkgs/lib/customisation.nix:263:17:

262|     in commonAttrs // {
          263|       drvPath = assert condition; drv.drvPath;
             |                 ^
          264|       outPath = assert condition; drv.outPath;

… while evaluating the attribute 'handled'

at /nix/store/nlm3wz58fjzcbf7d9csf2czxmrvsk65k-nixpkgs/nixpkgs/pkgs/stdenv/generic/check-meta.nix:485:7:

484|       # or, alternatively, just output a warning message.
          485|       handled =
             |       ^
          486|         {

(stack trace truncated; use '--show-trace' to show the full trace)

error: Package ‘unrar-6.2.12’ in /nix/store/nlm3wz58fjzcbf7d9csf2czxmrvsk65k-nixpkgs/nixpkgs/pkgs/tools/archivers/unrar/default.nix:54 has an unfree license (‘unfreeRedistributable’), refusing to evaluate.

a) To temporarily allow unfree packages, you can use an environment variable
          for a single invocation of the nix tools.

$ export NIXPKGS_ALLOW_UNFREE=1

Note: When using `nix shell`, `nix build`, `nix develop`, etc with a flake,
                then pass `--impure` in order to allow use of environment variables.

b) For `nixos-rebuild` you can set