Strategy to use same config at work and home

Hi,

I’m quite new to Nix, but I managed to create my own “dotfiles” with Home Manager and I’m quite happy with the tooling I managed to setup.

Now I’d like to take this with me at my work computer. Most of my configuration is fine, except for:

• Git: Different user, email and secret management
  • Home: Different user and home folder
  • Fish Shell: Extend with new alias

What would be a good way to achieve this? I though about creating a new repository for my work configuration (in the company’s space) or just extending my personal configuration with a new user and load the Git configuration from a company’s repository.

Suggestions? Any example I could look to get inspired?

Thanks

I haven’t taken the plunge into home manager yet, but I’ve done this with my /etc/nixos/configuration.nix.

My approach is to keep my configuration in a git repo, with clones on my home and work machines.

I have an import like adminInfo = import ./admin-info.nix {}; in configuration.nix. And I have two files in the repo:

home-admin-info.nix:

{}:

{
  user = "matt";
  hostName = "alpha";
  domain = "mchenryfamily.org";
}

work-admin-info.nix:

{}:

{
  user = "mmchenry";
  hostName = "mmchenry-nixos";
  domain = "work.com";
}

The only thing that’s not version controlled in git is the admin-info.nix symlink, which points to the appropriate *-admin-info.nix on each machine.

Then elsewhere in configuration.nix, I can refer to these variables, e.g. networking.hostName = adminInfo.hostName.

I also have hardware-configuration.nix symlinked to home-hardware-info.nix or work-hardware-info.nix, since the machines need different kernel modules etc.