Tauri Apps - lets build it with Nix!

Hey folks!

I am super excited about Tauri. Tauri is a Rust and WebView-powered Electron-alternative.

tauri.studio → https://tauri.studio/en/

The project, team, and the product/infra/tooling they’ve already built is quite impressive to me:

• automated benchmarks for example apps vs Electron
  • GHA for producing final release-able apps for all platforms automatically
  • Rust and JS tooling
  • Vue helpers and a create-tauri-app starter

It feels like a project with serious momentum and serious vision and determination.

I suspect we will need to build something in nixpkgs to make it relatively easy to package these Tauri apps. I don’t have a lot of experience orchestrating more complex builds with Nix, nor do I have a lot of (any) experience with Tauri but I’m excited and wanted to start a discussion.

For now I’m mostly just expressing interest in case someone else wants to chat about it or tinker with me.

15 Likes

Hey there @colemickens, Did you make any progress on this? I am a junior software engineer who has recently joined the Nix community and I’m looking for this, I will also gladly contribute by testing and building some tauri applications.

1 Like

How does it compare with something like Flutter? Is it a drop-in replacement for electron?

2 Likes

It is a framework that is similar but a lot more efficient and safe than electron, you can write your backend in rust and your UI with any web framework (such as react or svelte), but instead of shipping a whole chromium browser with the application it creates a native window and renders a native webView, So it is way less resource intensive and applications compile to a very small binary. I haven’t used flutter so I am unsure how to compare it, but here is a quick video (2:37) Which explains it in a very simple amd understandable way https://youtu.be/-X8evddpu7M