Tests for a derivation that needs wrapping

I’ve been struggling with this for awhile so I’ve decided that I could really use another set of eyes on this. I should add that this is my first time writing a wrapper derivation & passthru.test, so maybe I’m not doing something about this correctly or should go a completely different route instead.

We have a binary package for the OpenWatcom compiler suite (https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/blob/7a01a0efeb82d5f114ed4fb181548f0b44a9b7fc/pkgs/development/compilers/open-watcom-bin/default.nix) because it’s a dependency for some virtualbox BIOS stuff. But nobody seems to have bothered with actually writing some nice wrapping for the suite? tl;dr you’re supposed to add hostPlatform-specific paths to PATH & set some some special envvars for the tools but it doesn’t have any of the required wrapping to work on its own, only when virtualbox detects it & sets everything up on its own.

I’m now writing a derivation for a fork of this suite with afew more features (open-watcom-v2: init at unstable 2021-11-30 by OPNA2608 · Pull Request #124000 · NixOS/nixpkgs · GitHub). Since this will need the same kind of wrapping I decided to try my hand at writing a wrapper function wrapWatcom. Done, so far so good.

Next, since building the suite from source can take anywhere from 25 minutes to almost 3 hours depending on the settings, and writing the wrapper went so smooth, I figured that writing some simple tests would be a good idea. Here’s where my problems start:

From what I gathered, when writing a passthru.tests entry, the test needs to explicitly reference the to-be-tested package. For this, the package needs to get itself as an argument. For example if we take a look at the hello package, we see:

{ lib
, stdenv
, fetchurl
, testVersion
, *hello*
}:

stdenv.mkDerivation rec {
  pname = "hello";
  # ...
  passthru.tests.version =
    testVersion { package = *hello*; };
}