Thinkpad x270 fingerprint reader support

Hello everyone,

TL;DR The built-in fingerprint reader of the ThinkPad x270 seems to works with the driver python-validity package, but it’s not available in nixpkgs yet.
I’m new in Nix/NixOS, so I would be glad if a soul out there could give me a hand finding it or writing it :slight_smile:

Here’s my steps:

I tried to list my devices with:

nicolas@nixos ~ % lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 013: ID 138a:0097 Validity Sensors, Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04f2:b5ab Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd Integrated Camera
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I understand that the fingerprint reader is Bus 001 Device 013: ID 138a:0097 Validity Sensors, Inc.

And when running fprint-enroll it fails with:

Impossible to enroll: GDBus.Error:net.reactivated.Fprint.Error.NoSuchDevice: No devices available

I tried different options but get the same result:

services.fprintd.enable = true;
services.fprintd.tod.enable = true;
services.fprintd.tod.driver = pkgs.libfprint-2-tod1-vfs0090;
  • I read this other thread (for ThinkPad T480): Thinkpad T480 fingerprint reader support - #3 by faultymuse which confirms me that there were no python-validity package for NixOS yet.

• I then tried to write a Nix script for python-validity to add to my configuration:
    { lib, python3Packages }: with python3Packages; buildPythonApplication { pname = "python-validity"; version = "0.12"; propagatedBuildInputs = [ cryptography pyusb pyyaml ]; driverPath = /usr/share/python-validity/6_07f_lenovo_mis_qm.xpfwext; src = ./.; }

but got the same error as before.

Thanks if you have any idea to help me :slight_smile:

NB: I opened a few issues on the different repositories hoping to have more answers, you can check them there:
https://github.com/NixOS/nixos-hardware/issues/521
https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/issues/207116
https://github.com/uunicorn/python-validity/issues/150

1 Like