Unable to install HP printer with proprietary driver despite setting allowUnfree = true in /etc/nixos/configuration.nix

Sorry about all the edits, but I’m trying to figure out how to make this post more legible…

I am new to NixOS and have been trying to install a couple of HP printers just using the NixOS standard plasma desktop environment.
When I try running:

nix run nixpkgs.hplipWithPlugin -c sudo hp-setup

it returns:

error: Package ‘hplip-3.19.12’ in /nix/var/nix/profiles/per-user/root/channels/nixos/pkgs/misc/drivers/hplip/default.nix:222 has an unfree license (‘unfree’), refusing to evaluate.

a) For nixos-rebuild you can set
{ nixpkgs.config.allowUnfree = true; }
in configuration.nix to override this.

b) For nix-env, nix-build, nix-shell or any other Nix command you can add
{ allowUnfree = true; }
to ~/.config/nixpkgs/config.nix.

(use ‘–show-trace’ to show detailed location information)

I checked /etc/nixos/configuration.nix and it has:

nixpkgs.config = {
allowUnfree = true;
};

I found a post that has addresses allowing Unfree packages

allowUnfree in configuration.nix doesn't enable instantiating unfree packages · Issue #4766 · NixOS/nixpkgs · GitHub
allowUnfree in configuration.nix doesn’t enable instantiating unfree packages #4766

but it relates to ~/.nixpkgs/config.nix; not to the system level (configuration.nix) with

sudo -i nixos-rebuild switch

Am I missing something obvious? I hope so… :worried:
I would really appreciate any help anyone could offer.
Thanks. :slightly_smiling_face:

IIRC allowUnfree in configuration.nix is only for installations through configuration.nix.

For nix run I usually do NIXPKGS_ALLOW_UNFREE=1 (I might misrember exact name of the environment variable)

Thank you for responding. :smiley:

I was hoping to install the printers through configuration.nix so all users could have access to them.
Is that not possible?

But you did nix run

Yes, I typed: