Why doesn't nix-env require sudo or root?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to nixos security.

Question: why doesn’t nix-env not require sudo or root ? Anyone with access, locally or remotely, can install stuff ?

By the time we realize an unauthorized program has been installed, we may have lost everything; all our source code; all our private files – too late for a roll back.

Define “install”.

In FHS distros, there is typically only one global environment. With Nix there can be infinitely many separate environments.

Unprivileged users can modify their own environments at will using nix-env etc. but they cannot modify the global system environment; you need privileges for that. They are free to install whatever “unauthorised” program into their own environments as they please and potentially lose their data by running them but the program still only runs with the user’s privileges. Unless your user is privileged or your system can be abused to elevate privileges, the program cannot do harm to anyone but the individual user that ran it; it won’t affect the rest of the system.

It’s not any different from the user executing some bash script. It too could be malicious and they don’t need any privileges to “install” or run it on FHS distros either.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome!

As @Atemu already pointed out, installing software in nix-env doesn’t require sudo because it’s only available to the user who installed it (and not “system-wide”).

You might want to take a look at the Introduction of the Nix Reference Manual and the chapter on User Profiles - they explain how software is managed by Nix.

1 Like