Why Home-manager and Flakes?

Hey i am fairly new to NixOS, pretty much just started. Got a few Years of Experience with Manjaro and Debian and i was just amazed when i first learned of the Nix Concept. How good it is…and wondering why i never heard of it. I always hated the dependency struggle and “find the right configuration hell”. The Fact that i have one File to Declare my whole system is awesome and got me hooked right away.

But…

one of the first things in the Official Documentation is the Home-Manager (in fact, a lot of guides are specific to HM) But it does require another config File. Then you Learn about flakes…which requires another config File… So far i try to avoid both of those, but i feel like that is not really sustainable

am i missing Something here? We went from one Configuration File to 3-4 entirely different ways to manage the System (4 including nix-env -i, which i do not get at all tbh)

To me…so far… it feels like this is like the greatest idea of managing a Development System…turning into trying to make something/a bit for everybody… which makes it kinda awful again

I Don’t want to Piss anyone off or anything like that. I just do not understand the thought process here.

Anyone care to enlighten me?

Have a nice Day everyone :heavy_heart_exclamation:

*P.S dang it…this is most likely the wrong thread…apologies for that

home manager allows you to specify user specific configurations using the module system developed for NixOS. you can use it in your configuration.nix file importing it as a module itself: Home Manager Manual

As far as I know, Flakes aimed to solve everything, but I am not sure if it succeeded. Here is a good article on flakes: Flakes aren't real and cannot hurt you: a guide to using Nix flakes the non-flake way - jade's www site