Would it be feasible to make dbus-broker the default dbus implementation? [Implemented]

I saw that Archlinux is using it as the default implementation now and was curious about what is blocking this? Fedora’s been using it for a while and it seems to be pretty much set and forget it. I’ve been using on my system for about 3 months and haven’t noticed anything.

Edit: implemented in dbus: Switch default implementation to broker by LDprg · Pull Request #299812 · NixOS/nixpkgs · GitHub.

3 Likes

i’ve been running it on quite a few NixOS systems running inside lxc for a while with no complaints

1 Like

Yeah we should write an RFC, I guess best if someone experienced takes over that responsibility.

I’ve been using dbus-broker since ArchLinux switched to default, on multiple desktops, and I’ve not observed any unwanted behaviors.

1 Like

Not sure that this needs an RFC. I think a PR that switches the default and adds an entry to the release notes is sufficient, together with a post on discourse to announce the imminent change (so people can opt out beforehand). We can then leave a bit of time for feedback in case anyone has a really good reason not to go ahead with it.

7 Likes

IMO, probably yes (and some more chars)

2 Likes

Nothing against the change, but for those like me that didn’t know about it, why the change?

Things I would like in an alt DBus broker implementation:

• Alt ubiquitous serialization (ie. JSON).
    • DBus serialization format is good but too specific. Maybe BSON, MsgPack, Protobuf, faster than JSON, less ubiquitous than JSON, more than DBus.
  • Alt IPC protocol (ie. ???, gRPC?, msgpack-rpc?).
    • Same of the previous point, but there is no ubiquitous IPC.

But none of those are intended to be implemented dbus-broker :sweat_smile:

1 Like

https://www.phoronix.com/news/Arch-Linux-Dbus-Broker wrote:

better performance and reliability along with better systemd integration

in conjunction with

dbus-broker wiki wrote: