ZFS + systemd-boot without legacy mountpoints

Hi, I am trying NixOS and one of the things I like is the clutter-free booting with just an EFI partition plus a non-crippled ZFS pool. However I am struggling to get it completely “clean”.

The wiki (https://nixos.wiki/wiki/ZFS) seems to imply that one can drop the legacy mountpoints by adding boot.zfs.extraPools. When I do this, and remove fileSystems."*"entries in hardware-configuration.nix (except for /boot of course) then (i) either the system does not boot (in case I remove e.g. /nix), or (ii) an assertion fails during nixos-rebuild (“The fileSystems option does not specify your root file system”).

I am sure the ZFS datasets can be made to load during boot just fine. E.g. according to other answers to https://discourse.nixos.org/t/zfs-systemd-boot/29956 one could import all ZFS datasets including root using boot.initrd.postDeviceCommands.

However, how do I get past this failing assertion?

1 Like

Hi,

I am just a newbie regarding both Nixos and zfs, but I try to give you a couple of ideas (I hope the experts will give you better help).

First, I would try to get a working setup with legacy mounts. If it works, then at least we have a working starting point.

Second, for what I see, all the examples I was able to find uses the legacy mountpoints, included the official guide to zfs on open-zfs site. So this make me wander whether new mount points are actually supported, or if there are reasons that prevent people to use them.

About the wiki, have you tested the parameters reported in this section?

https://nixos.wiki/wiki/ZFS#Mount_datasets_at_boot

It seems like it should just work.

Here I link the repo in which I am sharing the exploration I am doing regarding Nixos, so you can have a look to the zfs part, maybe it could be useful for you:

https://bitbucket.org/open-kappa/nixos/src/master/mypartitions/zfs/configuration_zfs.nix