Advice wanted: writing a build system in Nix

Hi all. This is my first post here, and it is a long one (so I have sectioned it out).

It will likely only appeal to those who deal with build systems - and have faced similar issues to me when it comes to the fragile interaction between Nix, a system designed to be hermetic, and build systems that try to solve caching etc in their own way.

tl;dr

My hope is to write a build system in Nix, without passing the build steps to other build systems such as make, cmake, bazel, etc. So in this vision, Nix is given all the information about how targets relate to source files, how theyā€™re built, and can use the store to prevent rebuilds of unchanged targets.

Background

I am a developer working on a large polyrepo, with components written mainly in C++, but with some python and NodeJS components too. All in all, a single configuration builds ~20 tools, and I am usually building ~20 configurations, so a full build will involve ~400 compilations, and this takes about an hour if done from scratch.

Many of my dependencies, external and within the polyrepo, are header-only - which means they do not get ā€˜builtā€™, just available as includes to the final binaries. This is by design: much my work involves a lot of C++ template metaprogramming, which inhibits the use of intermediate build steps. So even if I fetch and cache dependencies with Nix, that will save me the (negligible) download time rather than any build time.