Altering package (oraclejdk11) installation fails

Hi there! For work, I need oraclejdk11 with some additional certificates installed. I’m new to nixos, believe I found a solution that should work, but cannot get it to actually do so.

In the normal world (non-nixos), I’d just install the JDK and then use the keytool that’s found in its bin directory to add those certificates. In nix, that doesn’t work, because the installation directory is readonly.

Others have posted solutions to achieve the same result, but I think they are not as clean as my attempt and I don’t fully understand them. I’ve asked for clarification, but I don’t know if that’ll arrive in time.

If we break my problem down, it seems quite simple:

1. Install package
  2. Run a few additional commands within the install dir

My attempt is to look at the derivation file for oraclejdk11 and then use an override to add the additional steps I require. This is what that looks like:

# custom-jdk.nix
{ pkgs ? import <nixpkgs> {}, ... }:

let
  # Define the source for the custom certificate
  cert1 = pkgs.fetchurl {
    url = "http://cert1.crt";  # Replace with the actual path or URL to the certificate file
    sha256 = "91a3b1962b...";  # Replace with the actual SHA-256 hash of the certificate file
  };
  cert2 = pkgs.fetchurl {
    url = "http://cert2.crt";
    sha256 = "fbaef2da...";
  };

# Override the official Oracle JDK derivation
  customOracleJdk = pkgs.oraclejdk11.overrideAttrs (oldAttrs: {
    # I tried the following:
    # installPhase = oldAttrs.installPhase + '' # claims that `keytools` can't be found
    # postFixup = oldAttrs.postFixup + '' # /nix/store/gv2cl6qvvslz5h15vqd89f1rpvrdg5yc-stdenv-linux/setup: line 146: pop_var_context: head of shell_variables not a function context
    postInstall = '' # simply ignored
      # Debugging
      ls -l $out/bin > $out/content_of_bin.txt; // works and does find keytool executable