Can I use Haskell's `stack` with `nix run` for a resolver not in my current nixpkgs?

I’m new to Haskell and stack. I’m trying to follow instructions for a university course that assumes Stackage snapshot LTS 14.7
These instructions weren’t made for NixOS, so I’ve translated their

stack --resolver lts-17.4 new helloworld

to

nix run 'nixpkgs#stack' -- --resolver lts-17.4 new helloworld

This gives me:

error: attribute 'ghc8104' missing

at «string»:1:43:

1| with (import <nixpkgs> {}); let inputs = [haskell.compiler.ghc8104 git gcc gmp]; libPath = lib.makeLibraryPath inputs; stackExtraArgs = lib.concatMap (pkg: [ ''--extra-lib-dirs=${lib.getLib pkg}/lib''   ''--extra-include-dirs=${lib.getDev pkg}/include'' ]) inputs; in runCommand ''myEnv'' { buildInputs = lib.optional stdenv.isLinux glibcLocales ++ inputs; STACK_PLATFORM_VARIANT=''nix''; STACK_IN_NIX_SHELL=1; LD_LIBRARY_PATH = libPath;STACK_IN_NIX_EXTRA_ARGS = stackExtraArgs; LANG="en_US.UTF-8";} ""
             |                                           ^
(use '--show-trace' to show detailed location information)

Fair enough. Stack has Nix integration, but probably can’t magically know which nixpkgs version contains what GHC version. It looks like NixOS 21.05 had GHC 8.10.4 (haskell.compiler.ghc8104), even though it doesn’t show up in search.nixos.org/packages:

So I’ve tried

nix run 'github:NixOS/nixpkgs/nixos-21.05#stack' -- --resolver lts-17.4 new helloworld

but still got

error: attribute 'ghc8104' missing