Can't wrap my head around derivation dependencies

Hi there,

I’m a Nix noob. I’ve read all the nixos manual, a good chunk of the nix manual and started to read nixpkgs. But still a noob :smile:

I also have a personal server running nix, started to build my own derivation and even committed a (very small) fix for one package. Still learning a lot, but I like what I’m seeing, so definitely interested !

I knew that Nix was a one-of-its-kind, with some steep learning curve, but I’m ready to pay the price. Plus, most of the information is in the documentations so we can’t say that there’s no manual.

However, I’m stuck on a particular point : derivation dependencies. I can say a lot of things on the documentation, some part are easier to get than others, but this part… this part is too much. I read it countless time, but still can’t understand it.

So here I am. Can someone ELI5 the derivation dependencies ?

Thanks a lot for your help !

EDIT : forgot to say this. As a retribution, I commit myself to propose a patch for the documentation, with proper diagrams and explanation, in order to enhance this section.

5 Likes

Not sure this qualifies as explain-like-I’m-5, nor does it reflect a complete understanding of that section of the manual. However, I don’t think it’s necessary to understand it for practical purposes of packaging most software. So with that covered, here’s my attempt:

• build is the system we’re building our derivation on
  • host is the system we’re building our derivation for
  • target is the system the output of our derivation will be able to build things for.

It’s rare for host not to be the same as target, and you’ll find that a large portion of nixpkgs doesn’t really support cross-compiling well, let alone even consider the case of “canadian cross” (where we have build, host and target all distinct).

depsAB is simply put software that will run on the A system and produce things that run on the B system.