Firefox all black when _first_ launched after login

I use Firefox on Gnome 3 on X11, installed from the current stable channel a couple of days ago. I’m a beginner with NixOS.

Every first launch of Firefox shows only a black rectangle: Firefox is not drawn. It does not seem to be frozen, though, because IIRC Firefox is now using client-side decorations, and I can click the place where the close button is (although it is invisible “in the dark”).

The second launch and 3rd, etc. are OK… until next login.

5 Likes

It might have something to do with the graphics stack. Try resizing the window to force it to redraw (eg. by dragging it to the left/right edge of the screen by mouse with Super key pressed).

Hello jtojnar. While the issue was systematic when I posted this, it stopped occurring right after that! I’ve waited for a week for the issue to occur again, and it did not. Thus I suspect a temporary issue, either in my configuration (which I progressively improved over time), or in a package that got fixed since then.
Thanks anyway! Your help has been of great value here and elsewhere :slight_smile:

I have two GNOME/Wayland systems which has the same issue. It happens seemingly randomly. On both systems I’ve configured Firefox to auto-start on login. No other app has this issue.

I’m experiencing the same issue on Nixos with Gnome. I’m using a nvidia card and it seems that wayland is being used, which might be related? I’m gonna switch to nonfree drivers and see what happens.

I can reproduce it almost 90% of the time I first run Firefox on a GNOME wayland session. Exiting and restarting Firefox solves it. It’s on a laptop with intel GPU only (from a i5-7300U CPU).

This doesn’t happen on GNOME on X.

I had this issue too. Solved it by using firefox-wayland package instead of firefox

3 Likes

Try resizing the window to force it to redraw (eg. by dragging it to the left/right edge of the screen by mouse with Super key pressed).